December 11, 2018, 02:50:38 AM

See more Support incidents in our old archived forum.

Author Topic: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?  (Read 3059 times)

d.laumaille

  • Customers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« on: October 15, 2015, 03:45:31 PM »
Hi,

I'd like to know how to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
In my project, I have some tasks with a classic dependency type FinishToStart, but which need to always keep together : the second task start time should always equals the first task end time.

I'd have thought that writing a dependency like 1FS+0 would have make it, but obviously not ! ^^

Is there any way to do this ?

Rajagopal

  • RQ Members
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 99
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2015, 02:39:51 PM »
d.laumaille,

Do you mean that you want to prevent the successor task from being moved to the right (away from the predecessor) resulting in a gap?


Thanks,
- Raja.

d.laumaille

  • Customers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2015, 02:56:16 PM »
Hi Raja,

yes, but in both sides : just as when I put a 1 hour gap, but with no gap !

ForumAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 83
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2015, 06:13:38 PM »
Daniel,

Even when you specify a +1 lag, gaps would occur when the user does this:

1) Move the successor some where to the right. (there will be a gap now.)

2) Move the predecessor to the right to get rid of the gap.

3) Then move the predecessor to the left again. (At one point you will see that the successor will not follow the pred and so there will be a gap).

So, we are a bit confused that you want the behavior to be "just as when I put a 1 hour gap". What are me missing here?

Thanks
RQ Support

d.laumaille

  • Customers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2015, 07:41:21 AM »
Sorry, my mistake, I thought that defining a 1 hour lag also prevented the gap to be bigger...

So my needs are only to stick some tasks together, one after the other (with a finish to start link), and to prevent any gap between them.

Let me explain my real life case :
My customer works with a really hot hoven to mold titanium pieces. In their projects, they have three tasks concerning the hoven : warm up the hoven (10 to 20 hours), mold the pieces (5 to 25 hours) and cool down the hoven (5 to 15 hour). We need to keep three tasks, because they're not assigned to the same resources, but there can't be any gap between the three : we can't warm up the monday, mold the thursday and cool down the next tuesday ! ^^

Any idea ?

ForumAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 83
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2015, 02:15:43 PM »
Daniel,

Ok, thanks for the explanation.

The recommended approach would be to first setup the dependencies between the 3 tasks, then make the 2nd and 3rd task "read only" (end-user cannot operate on it). This would then keep the 2nd and 3rd task stick to the 1st as the 1st is moved back and forth. And the 2nd and 3rd cannot be moved away from the 1st (because they are read-only anyway).

If this will work, we will provide you some sample code.

d.laumaille

  • Customers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2015, 02:18:33 PM »
This solution seems nice...

How could I make the 2nd and 3rd task read-only ?

Rajagopal

  • RQ Members
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 99
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2015, 02:08:42 PM »
Daniel,

Please take a look at this "GanttControl/Behavior Customization/Disabling Runtime Features/Task specific ReadOnly settings" topic in our UG documentation where this task specific read-only settings is already described in detail.


Thanks,
- Raja

d.laumaille

  • Customers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2016, 10:48:18 AM »
Hi Raja,

I'm afraid I don't have this section in my UG documentation.
Under GanttControl/Behavior Customization/Disabling Runtime Features/, I've got only two sections :
  • Global ReadOnly
  • Global Selective ReadOnly settings

Thanks for the help,
David

Rajagopal

  • RQ Members
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 99
Re: How to force a lag of 0 hour between two tasks ?
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2016, 01:29:02 PM »
David,

We apologies for this issue, for some reason the specified page was excluded from UG on publish. We have sent that page to your mail.


Thanks,
- Raja